Chicken Nest Bun 鸡窝包

i occasionally have dim sum at the row of dim sum shops in Sri Petaling but recently my colleague introduced me the “Chicken Nest Bun” (literally translated from 鸡窝包). As I didn’t know what it was to begin with, I was quite curious about this creation.

click for larger version

The bun itself is in the shape of a beehive, and already sliced into five pieces when served for easy consumption. The skin is similar to that of a bao (包), white and fluffy and goes very well with the filling. Now, the filing is bite-sized chicken cooked in a starchy gravy of onions and mushrooms. And a salted egg yolk thrown in for good measure.

The difference between this bun and your usual chicken / pork baos is that, the bottom of this bun is not covered with the same white bao skin but instead, a layered of glutinous rice that is flavoured the same way as a loh mai kai.

My colleague also informed me that frozen ones can be bought to be steamed at home for the guaranteed freshness. Priced at RM4.50 each.

Restoran Clan (大家城点心茶楼)
140, Jalan Radin Anum 1,
Sri Petaling,
57000 Kuala Lumpur.

other reviews :
may (chinese post)
ipohwav3

2 Comments »

  1. tankiasu said

    Oh this is something totally new to me as well. By the way, maybe next time you should try the dim sum at Restoran Kam Hin in Kuchai Lama. Bigger and better I reckon. 😉

    My previous review on Kam Hin:

    http://www.xanga.com/tankiasu/575404264/restoran-kam-hin-at-kuchai-lama.html

    epicuriousgirl says: thanks for the recommendation! will keep it in mind. 🙂

  2. So unusual – must give this a try when I do Sri Petaling area.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment