Typica, Shaw Parade KL

Have heard of friends raving about Typica for some weeks now and when a friend suggested going there for drinks, jumped on the invitation.

I really wasn’t expecting Typica to be tucked away in a corner of Shaw Parade. In fact I think the whole establishment can only seat about 20 pax at one time. but the decor is simple yet inviting. Putting “recycled” furniture to good use, old larders, kopitiam chairs etc are scattered around. I must admit, it was charming indeed. Somehow it fitted with the fact that Arabica Typica coffee plants are the base from which many other coffee varietals have been developed, back to the source if you must.

The people behind Typica are big on coffee brewed using a siphon coffee maker, which is supposed to brew the “purest coffee”. The range of coffee beans offered is a lot but unless you’re an avid coffee drinker, perhaps it’s best to consult the baristas on the type of coffee that suits your palate. The ice drip coffee here is also highly recommended.

I didn’t go for any of the highly recommended drinks coz personally, I am not a black coffee person. I prefer to have it with milk so I had the Rose Latte. The rose taste was so subtle that I couldn’t really taste it. But as for the latte, it was smooth and milky and i finished it off all too soon.

My friend had the Soyacino, which substitutes milk with soymilk or soya bean.

Cakes are available at RM10 apiece. Our choice, yam cake & mango cake. I was really looking forward to the yam cake and I thought the coconut shavings were an unexpected topping to the cake that layered yam paste with soft spongey cake atop a crumbly base. Light yet fragrant with the yam’s aroma, it was delightful. The mango cake was very yummy too with the light mousse sandwiched in between and topped with fresh fruit. However, I found the bits of pumpkin seeds unnecessary as I don’t think it did much for taste.

Typica is indeed a cosy, homey cafe that one can wile away lazy afternoons and with the wide variety of coffee served, you’re indeed spoilt for choice. As all coffee are laboriously prepared upon order, waiting time here is definitely longer than your average chain coffee joints. But sit back, relax and soak in the atmosphere and literally smell the coffee!

Typica č±†åŽŸ (www)
GL-08, Ground Floor,
Shaw Parade
Jalan Changkat Thambi Dollah,
55100 Kuala Lumpur

other reviews;
you get what you give
cglow.com
brought up 2 share

7 Comments »

  1. J said

    Typica? What a strange name… šŸ™‚
    (So close to sounding like Typical)

  2. J2Kfm said

    I wouldn’t expect a floral-scented/flavoured coffee to be of significance, mainly because the coffee beans themselves are robust enough.
    Probably works better with tea, or even milk tea … like what Winter Warmers offer.

  3. gina said

    Well, after you soak the rose petals in the coffee, you would get the rose smell. I am not too sure if you remember the rose latte you tried at Nelson Tan’s. I quite like the rose latte there and it’s only RM5.90!

    epicuriousgirl says: ya i remember Nelson Tan’s. Maybe that was why I teringat to order this.. hehe.

  4. Lovely! Read abt this some time ago & been meaning to viist but once I stayed in Pj..aiyo..think of goin KL is like errrr… hehehe

  5. Lovely! Read abt this some time ago & been meaning to viist but once I stayed in Pj..aiyo..think of goin KL is like errrr… hehehe

    btw,
    I have send your blog link & name to Nazeen Koonda from
    mongoose advertising cos he was looking for food bloggers for events etc.
    I think he will be in touch soon.

    Rebecca

    epicuriousgirl says: thanks rebecca for the kind thought. and yes, I know how it feels to stay in PJ and not want to go to KL… no need to, right?šŸ˜›

  6. love the place, love their coffee and homemade yam cake.

  7. Leo Sigh said

    The rose latte actually sound delicious. A friend recommended this place but I haven’t tried it yet. The next time I’m in KL maybe (I’m in Bangkok).

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

