Hui Lau Shan, Egg Tarts etc. in Hong Kong.

Bet the HK posts are starting to tire you all so I am going to start lumping a couple of co-related ones together to speed things up. So this post is going to be on the sweet stuff i.e. the famous dessert chain Hui Lau Shan and egg tarts.

I’m sure many of you have already heard about Hui Lau Shan, one of Hong Kong’s most well-known dessert chains. They feature heavily on mango desserts and is actually the first thing I ate in Hong Kong! We were stepping off the ferry terminal in Kowloon when we spotted one of their booths. And before we left Hong Kong, we stepped into another branch in Mongkok to have another serving.

Their house specialty is the Mango Pudding in Mango Juice with Extra Mango ( 芒果神冰@HKD 30) as pictured above. I had the cup dessert, Coconut Noodle with Extra Mango (多芒捞河 @ HKD 30). Their mango pudding and mango ice cream truly is sublime. The wobbly mango has chunks of mango in it and is not overly sweet. And the mango ice cream is truly❤ at first bite. Made from frozen mango puree, it’s pure mango at its best. I liked the coconut noodles too, as they were silky and smooth, but I couldn’t taste much of the coconut. Still, it was very compatible with the sweetness of the fresh mango fruit.

On my second visit, I chose the Mando Pudding with Pomelo & Mango (杨支金捞布丁 @ HKD32), which is combination of my favourite HK dessert, the Mango Pomelo dessert (杨枝甘露) and my favourite HLS items, the mango pudding and mango ice cream. Truly a wonderful combination. Indulgent and perfect.

Apart from mango desserts, HLS also does other hot desserts including those with bird’s nest. This is Stewed Egg with Bird’s Nest (燕窝炖蛋 @ HKD 25). Although bird’s nest is generally tasteless, it has a slight egg white aftertaste so when paired with stewed egg, this dessert ended up being a tad too eggy for my liking. But I did remember that it was very silky in texture.

Hui Lau Shan 许留山 (www)
Located all over HK. Check website for add.

other reviews;
pink parisian
grace ong
teczscape
ironeaters

***

Another Hong Kong dessert that I meant to try was the egg tart (蛋撻). The famous one is from this old school bakery in Lyndhurst Terrace, Central. Having been on the same street for over 50 years, it garnered much fame as being the favourite of last governor Chris Patten and also over it’s temporary closure due to rental issues.

The egg tarts in its enclosure was a sight to behold. Rows of golden babies, so very tempting. At HKD 5 each, slightly cheaper than some of its Portuguese cousins in Macau.

The humble egg tart in all its glory. Instead of a flaky crust, Tai Cheong’s version is akin to a shortcrust cookie crust. The yellow, wobbly custard centre is warm and eggy, without being too sweet. And it held its shape despite being soft to bite. Just sublime.

Tai Cheong Bakery 泰昌餅家 (www)
35, Lyndhurst Terrace,
Central, Hong Kong.
中環擺花街35

other reviews;
ho chiak
food4thot
mymakanplace (article originally by The Star)

10 Comments »

  1. Christy said

    Too bad I never did get to go to Hui Lau Shan during my last trip =(

    epicuriousgirl says: next time?🙂

  2. my husband would love this

    epicuriousgirl says: he has a sweet tooth?😛

  3. mimi said

    HK have many tong sui aka dessert chains~~ *envy*

    epicuriousgirl says: yeah. surprisingly m’sians are not following the trend huh? afterall, we all love our tong suis.

  4. J2Kfm said

    the Tai Cheong egg tarts are GOOD!

    but Hui Lau Shan i find them a bit over-rated, and over-priced.

    maybe for the Hongkies, mango desserts are special, but we be getting them all year round, and imported frmo Thai mostly, the mangoes were not as sweet and decadent as I hoped though.

    but seriously, ur HK posts are REAL good. makes me wanna go again and again ….

    epicuriousgirl says: I agree they are over-priced but none of the mango puddings or frozen ice cream has the same consistency back here so it’s still quite good imo. but you’re right, nothing beats the fresh fruit from Thailand!

    And thanks. I enjoyed your HK posts too, and took notes on where to go! Hehe. It was only a matter of too long a list, and too short a trip.😛

  5. Clarity said

    That Mango Pudding looks dreamy, but… my fave has to be the custard tarts which I am pleased to see don’t look like they use pungent nutmeg in the HK version, please ship some to London immediately🙂

    epicuriousgirl says: there’s a nutmeg version?

  6. gina said

    A friend actually went crazy after she saw this stall in HK and kept pestering EVERYONE to try. Haha! But I was stuffed with roast goose… and char siew, so I gave this a miss.

    epicuriousgirl says: hehe, can share ma. but it does live up to its fame.🙂

  7. Sedap said

    Hi,

    I’m Inspektor Sedap and I have set up a new food blog at eatinginkl.blogspot.com.

    I’ve recently posted up a 100 links post on my blog which included your esteemed food blog as well.

    Here’s the url: http://eatinginkl.blogspot.com/2009/03/blog-post.html

    I would appreciate it if we could exchange links.🙂 Thank you.

    Cheers,
    Inspektor Sedap

    epicuriousgirl says: thanks for the honour. and welcome to the food blogging scene.🙂

  8. Agnes said

    Linked u to my blog :p

    epicuriousgirl says: thanks!

  9. tigerfish said

    Every time I am at HLS, I will go for Mando Pudding with Pomelo & Mango :p

    epicuriousgirl says: Hehe, mango lover ya?

  10. Vivien said

    hey i love Mango Pomelo dessert, couldn’t find good one in Malaysia, however i did try one Mango pudding with ice cream quite nice in Sunway Pyramid, top floor i tink.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

