Orient Delights, TTDI Plaza

Next to Pucuk Ubi in TTDI Plaza is this chinese restaurant which I have noticed on a few occasions when I was there in TTDI Plaza and even read about it in a couple of newspapers. Seeing that their specialty is both Foochow (福州) and Hakka (客家) food, decided to bring my parents to try their clans’ specialty.

The decor is predominantly chinese, with the red ceiling, chinese ming chairs with marble tables etc.

Another corner, with newspaper cut outs, a tea table with a chess set.

Stewed Pork dish with wood fungus (RM19.90). This was alright only.

Stir-fried eggplant with minced meat (RM15.90). This was probably my favourite dish of the night but as it came last of all and most of our rice was almost gone, I found it a tad salty. Would have been a better accompaniment to the rice.

Pig Stomach and Pork Soup (RM17.90). Both my parents loved this. Phew. Finally something that satisfied their tastebuds. Hehe. And I appreciate the fact that it was served with a warmer so that the soup kept warm at all times.

Foo Chow Red Rice Wine Noodles (RM15.90). I had quite high expectations for this one as I tasted very nice ones in KL but I couldn’t even finish this. The rice wine was more sour than the tart and sweet note I anticipated.

Stir fried emperor noodles (RM15.90). To be honest, fell quite flat as I have had much better ones. Only consolation was probably that it wasn’t over oily.

I think I was expecting more out of this place as I grew up eating Hakka and Foochow cuisine but neither me nor my parents left Orient Delights feeling particularly satisfied. But considering that I didn’t try the dishes featured in the write ups (such as the foochow fish balls and yong tau foo), I think this place warrants a revisit.

Orient Delights
Lot A-1-12, TTDI Plaza,
Jalan Wan Kadir 3,
Taman Tun Dr Ismail,
Kuala Lumpur.

other reviews;
NST write up
clovetwo write up

2 Comments »

  1. Mellissa said

    Hi Jasmine,

    Just dropping by to say hi, and it was nice meeting you that day at Elegant Inn! 😀

    epicuriousgirl says: hey Mellissa! Great meeting you too 😀

  2. sc said

    food looks mediocre…..dont think will rush to try this anytime soon..

    epicuriousgirl says: there were indeed some hits and misses. but yeah, not too impressive with me either.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

