The Magnificent Fish & Chips Bar, KL

Happy 2009!! Started the new year with quite a blast – fireworks, wine, good company and all. Spent the first day of 2009 tapping my feet at Mamma Mia! followed by an early dinner at this fish & chips place.

Not particularly difficult to find if you’re familiar with Changkat Bukit Bintang. There’s not much of a sign, apart for the printed canvas awning, or the blackboard display. I have to admit though, I find the name a wee bit absurd. But then, this is not your regular chippy, serving not only fish & chips, but a variety of other English/Irish/Scottish food as well.

The decor of the place is quite a mish-mash of different influences. There’s the faded red kopitiam chairs, the chinese doorway arch, black & white mosaics (which I love) etc. I don’t really know what to make of it, but I did like the casual feel to the place. There’s no printed menu, but you can get recommendations from the waiting staff or refer to this handwritten blackboard menu. I did wonder how that was going to work for the patrons upstairs, but found out later that “upstairs” was more a lounge area than the dining area. To my delight, there was a pool table and a somewhat beaten chesterfield sofa set there.

So, the fish and chips. True to their name, they do not only serve your regular fish and chips and give you a choice of either Butterfish(RM24), Barramundi (or Seabass @ RM34), Coral Trout(RM44), Parrotfish(RM35), Silver Cod(RM46), Grouper(RM38), and Salmon (RM38). The prices vary according to the type of fish chosen. I decided to go for the Barramundi.

Was tickled to see that it was served in true F&C manner, with a inner layer of white paper and a bottom layer of newspaper. The use of the newspaper, apart from absorbing the grease is also used for insulation, i.e preventing water vapour to form. No soggy chips then! Hehe. The English refer to the thicker fries as chips due to the slab-cut and it’s reputed to have a lower fat content to its skinny cousins (i.e french fries) due to lower oil absorption.

Doused the chips with the vinegar and tucked in. Loved the crispy flour batter and the texture of the fish. And fell in love with chunky fries all over again. Felt like I was transported back to Posh Fish in Oxford again… ah, the good old days.


We actually had a few items to share and to start, we had the Fish Chowder (RM24) & Scottish Black Mussels in white wine (RM28). Even though the fish chowder was swimming with ingredients, I didn’t take to the taste much. I appreciated the very fresh fish chunks and peas inside though.

The black mussels didn’t wow me as much either. Bit too small to enjoy and I kept getting empty shells. Gah. I think I prefer the regular greenshell mussels. Hehe.

The English Onion Soup (RM18) & Mushy Peas (RM5) were more noteworthy though. True comfort food. And I didn’t even think I missed mushy peas until I had my first bite. OMG. So good.

I didn’t have much of the Cumberland Fish Pie (RM30) as the look of the mash was enough to fill me up but it was also chockful of ingredients like the fish chowder. Had half of a Spicy Prawn Ball (RM22) though and it was possibly the least pleasing dish we had the night. Supposedly made of minced prawns with bell peppers, I couldn’t taste the prawn at all. It was the Thai Chilli dip that saved the day.

Overall, I liked the place more for reliving my UK memories but it’s going to be a rare treat to come back here due to the prices. Our dinner here for 5 cost us around RM380 (yes, cheaper than flying over ) and considering it’s fish and chips… But if you’re looking for more than decent British grub (who would have thought I will string these 3 words together? :P) with a bunch of homesick British expats (lots of them here, and one kept going around with a bowl of chocs, and he told me to behave! :P), this is the place for you.

Looking forward to more good times ahead…and wishing you the same. πŸ˜€

The Magnificent Fish & Chips Bar
28, Changkat Bukit Bintang,
50200 Kuala Lumpur

other reviews;
julianisms
lyrical lemongrass
kyspeaks
masak-masak

8 Comments »

  1. Jon Looi said

    The black mussels shot was nice… I like it…

    hmm… but it doesn’t taste that well…. emm… 😦

    btw, your blog is great… I love it.

    we are trying to get hold of you but failed to get any response, we are wondering if it happened to make it to junk/spam mail folder.

    Could you please help to drop us a line? Thanks.

    epicuriousgirl says: thanks for dropping by. emailed you.

  2. Nic (KHKL) said

    had a nice slab of cod with chips last week…yummy!

    happy new year, epicurious! πŸ˜‰

    epicuriousgirl says: funny how F&C can be comfort food sometimes, eh? πŸ˜›

  3. Katie said

    I LOVE fish and chips and they look really nice. I also prefer thicker-cut chips simply because of the taste – much more to munch on than the skinny ones!

    epicuriousgirl says: ditto on the thick cut ones!

  4. gina said

    And who says fish and chips is boring? πŸ˜€ I like your choice too! Before I finish reading the menu, I already decided on barramundi! And you ordered the same!

    epicuriousgirl says: haha, can i say that great minds think alike? lol.

  5. J2Kfm said

    happy new year, and i guess only the fish and chips deserve a try?

    epicuriousgirl says: they do have quite a lot more of stuff that we haven’t tried but since they are a F&C bar, I supposed that’s why the F&C stands out more πŸ˜›

  6. Not Delia said

    We visited a couple of weeks ago, and pretty much agree with your comments. Some of the food is great, and some of it doesn’t quite come up to scratch. Definitely agree about the prices – especially the Guinness. I’m not sure we’d go back, although I wouldn’t definitely rule it out. It depends on how desperate we were for a decent fish and chips.

    epicuriousgirl says: hi. thanks for dropping by and glad you agree to what I think. Feel free to recommend any other english food haunts you stumble upon. πŸ™‚

  7. […] (Tuesday to Sunday) Price: 10 % service charge Post by other blogger Live to eat or Eat to live? she, the epicurious girl kyspeaks masak-masak Jules Eating Guide to Malaysia Comments […]

  8. […] “So, the fish and chips. True to their name, they do not only serve your regular fish and chips and give you a choice of either Butterfish(RM24), Barramundi (or Seabass @ RM34), Coral Trout(RM44), Parrotfish(RM35), Silver Cod(RM46), Grouper(RM38), and Salmon (RM38). The prices vary according to the type of fish chosen.” – Epicurious […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

