Bijou, Mont Kiara

Taking advantage of the long weekend, decided to meet up with old friends for catch up sessions. I have been meaning to head to Bijou after learning of them at their sister company, Bisou. Situated beneath the Energy Day Spa in Mont Kiara, this place looks nondescript from the outside, but we were pleasantly surprised at the overall airy, cheerful look on the inside.

The theme is very much like Bisou’s, mainly white, with the occasional splashes of colours (pink and orange). The place is also bigger than i expected, and well separated into different sections (incl. tables by the pool!) for better privacy. My favourite corner is probably where they store and display the wine, with the whitewashed floors but we were already seated near the entrance by then. Next time, maybe?

I understand that Bijou serves different dishes over breakfast, lunch, tea and dinner hence the need for a “changeable” menu but I personally found the menu’s frame a bit cumbersome. And I think it’s also easy to miss out on changing the papers as I had one that featured the same things on both sides.

We started with the Breaded Dungeness Crab Cakes with Cucumber Yogurt and Pineapple Tomato Chutney. I liked the crab cakes which reminded me of this codfish dish my Bermudian housemate’s grandmother used to make, flaky and . The chutney was lovely though I thought they could have spared a bit more yogurt on the cucumber shavings.

My friend decided to go for the Croque Monsieur, a typical french ham & cheese sandwich. The original cheese used would be one of Swiss origins, either Emmental or Gruyere but this one looks more like Chesdale Cheese slices. đŸ˜› But it was torched for that melted effect. Looks sinful eh?

My Linguine with Scallop. It looks absolutely delicious but I found it very salty. But apart from the thirst inducing salt levels, the linguine was al dente and the scallops done just how I liked them. If i am not mistaken, the green bits amongst my pasta was sliced leek. Couldn’t tell as the saltiness was kinda overpowering. After reading the reviews on the other food, I hope this was just a one off thing.

Noticed that Bijou served Cafe au Lait in addition to the regular latte. We ordered one of each which was served with a cookie. In case you’re curious as to what the difference is, the answer lies in the milk ratio. For the latte, ratio of espresso to milk is 1:2 whilst for the cafe au lait, ratio of regular brewed cofee to milk is 1:1.

Overall, I personally think the food is decent but not enough to knock my socks off. Plus, everything was a tad too salty for me (my friend also agrees). Prices are also slightly higher judging from portion size. But it does win points on the cheerful, relaxed ambience and child-friendly facilities. Worth scoping out if you’re in the area with kids or want a fun afternoon with your girlfriends.

Bijou (www)
Ground Floor, Damai Sari,
Mont Kiara Damai,
3, Jalan Kiara 2,
Mont Kiara
50480 Kuala Lumpur.
Tel: 03 6201 2131

other reviews;
lots of cravings
Nicolekiss Food & Diet
food4thot
thestar write up

4 Comments »

  1. gina said

    Hmmph.. I think the last time I’ve been to Mont Kiara was two years ago since they build extra and ugly highways cutting through the landscape. I think I probably would come here with my girlfriends for rounds of gossip. đŸ˜€ Thanks for sharing.

    epicuriousgirl says: wow, that’s long ago! and you’re not that far from Mont Kiara what…

  2. mimi said

    The French Ham look like those normal ham, taste different?

    epicuriousgirl says: don’t think it was french ham…more like processed cut ones.

  3. Happy New Year Jasmine! Hope you get loads of yummy eats.

    LOL at Bijou…when I first ate there before they switch to this chef, I found everything bland! Looks like they have changed completely now and got heavy handed with the salt.

    epicuriousgirl says: thanks boo! Happy New Year to you too!

    Ah, I hope it was just a one off thing.

  4. carmela said

    I used to go to bijou when they first started and the food was great and absolutely fantastic. But since they got the new chef, everything is dull and has lost it’s vibrants. The croque monsier looks so pathetic and cheap. Processed ham and KRAFT cheese.. come on guys? You can do better than that. Scallops and and just leek cream sauce? Speaking about quality?
    How about adding some bacon and mushroom in it? Just a suggestion. Has the chef his creativity or he has’nt any???

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

