Well Cook Gourmet, SS14 Subang Jaya

As I have seen a few reviews on this place, esp. on their fried laksa thought I should pay a visit since it’s near to my office. Not sure why in all our years around the vicinity, never really thought about stepping in this restaurant. In fact, I think I noticed the Teochew porridge place nearby it more.

It was quite full when we stepped in due to the lunch crowd. A flip thru the menu informed us that they sold all kind of noodle/rice dishes. And a quick sweep thru the restaurant saw most patrons having fried laksa. But still we tried to order different dishes so that we could have more variety.

Started with the popiah (RM4.50 for 2) which was a tad pricey. But it was beautifully wrapped and tasted quite alright. Not that impressive ler, but a welcomed starter as aromatic smells of the fried laksa wafted over, tempting us.

THE fried laksa (RM5.50) was indeed the star of the meal. Take the typical asam laksa noodles, lai fun and stir fry it with egg and the tangy, intense condiments that makeths the soup and garnish it with sliced onions, pineapples, cucumber, mint leaves and even bits of bunga kantan. No fish flakes, but a couple of prawns were found. It was surprisingly good! Full of the smokey, charred wok’s breath. But I only had a couple spoonfuls as it was ordered by my colleague….

My choice was the curry laksa (RM5), another dish that’s mentioned by fellow floggers. But I thought it was just mediocre, despite the promising look of the creamy broth. And there was probably way too much coconut milk in there for my own good. πŸ˜›

The asam laksa (RM5) dish didn’t score as much with us as it’s fried cousin which clearly stole the limelight. In fact, I thought it was lacklustre in comparison.

It does look like that the fried laksa is the only commendable dish here as the rest are just so-so tasting. And prices are slightly higher than the hawker counterparts. Yet, just remembering the tasty, silky strands of lai fun with the tangy, slightly spicy kick still warrants a re-visit. And I’m only going to stick to the fried laksa.

Restoran Well Cook Gourmet 滋味馆 (www)
74, Jalan SS 14/2
47500 Subang Jaya
Opens from 12 noon to 9pm.

other reviews;
mycoffee
masak-masak
kampungboycitygal

16 Comments »

  1. J2Kfm said

    fried laksa. whatever will they come up with next? πŸ™‚

    fried kai si hor fun? fried porridge? …. oh, that’s been done b4.

    epicuriousgirl says: i haven’t tasted fried porridge before though πŸ˜›

  2. Nic (KHKL) said

    ohhh, i’ve been eyeing on the fried laksa for a longgg time d…thanks for reminding..hehe

    hey, very nice pics! πŸ˜‰

    epicuriousgirl says: thanks…nice pics only come when i’m rajin enough to lug my dslr πŸ˜›

  3. vkeong said

    the Chinese name of the restaurant seems familiar, I think I seen it somewhere before. I’d love to try fried laksa! From the way it looked, seems to be quite similar to char koay teow le

    And they use clay pots to serve soup based noodles? Nice wor

    epicuriousgirl says: I guess it’s quite similar but the fried laksa has this tangy taste to it.

  4. hmmm .. fried laksa eh… ok!

    epicuriousgirl says: haha, you sound like you don’t know what to make of it πŸ˜›

  5. mimi said

    Interesting fried assam laksa…Taste sour & spicy too ?

    epicuriousgirl says: yup, but not as intense as the soup version, but still quite distinct.

  6. I first read about the fried laksa on Boo’s blog, and told myself I’d try it someday. Now this time, I better make sure I go there! Looks delish!!

    epicuriousgirl says: I think I first learnt about it from Boo’s blog too… then it started coming up in other floggers’ blogs so it became a must try! hehe.

  7. JENCOOKS said

    One can tell a well rolled popiah and that’s a nice one.
    Loh Shi Fun, so long never cooked already. mmm

    epicuriousgirl says: yup, nicely rolled indeed. Err, where did the Loh Shi Fun come from?

  8. fried laksa is my favourite dish… my mum cook very well too… i love it tooo much…

    yum yumm

    epicuriousgirl says: wow your mum knows how to cook it? can ask for recipe? πŸ™‚

  9. gina said

    I had fried porridge before and thought that was special! fried laksa now? Haha!

    epicuriousgirl says: how does fried porridge taste like huh?

  10. Simon Seow said

    My friend brought me here that day. The po piah not bad.

    epicuriousgirl says: ok lah. did you like the fried laksa?

  11. Victim of Well Cook Gourmet Shop said

    I used to be the regular customer of this restaurant. Every week I will visit there 2-3times a week for lunch. And to the extend, I have introduced and brought lots of customers to that shop. All the while was okay until few days ago when the nightmare happened! The old couple who are the owner of the shop used to be friendly and okay until lately I found out a total different people they are. I ordered Fish Ball Soup and my friend ordered Laksa. However, after my third bite, i noticed something black in colour floating in the soup! To my horror, it was a cockroach in the SOUP!!!! My usual reaction I would shout and quickly take photo of it and give a piece of my mind to the owner. But this time, i remain calm and asked the waitress to call for the lady boss. She came over and took a look at it. Instead of saying sorry, she said it is normal to find fly, hair and even cockroach in the food. Can never prevent that and to the extend she said big restaurant like Eden also have that problem when she visited the restaurant last time! Due to I was the regular customer there, I did not make a big fuss about it. After my friend finished her meal, we went over to counter to pay for the food. I just talked to the guy boss and asked them to be careful about it. If others, they would have report this case. I was so shocked how the owner reacted after I talked to him nicely. Instead of saying sorry, he shouted at me saying if I want to report, just go ahead. He said its normal to have such thing in food cant prevent it. He said even if I report to authority, they can’t do much cause this is Malaysia!! How could he say that? Are we Malaysian deserve to eat fly, cockroach etc in our food? Just because we are Malaysian, the quality and cleanliness of the food should be compromised? He even showed me that he got Grade A by authority for cleanliness of his shop so he has nothing to be afraid of. Gosh! If you guys do not mind your food cleanliness being compromised, then you all can go ahead continue visit the shop. I just can’t believe that I was the victim that just ate the cockroach soup served by them yet I get scolded and shouted at! Most probably the food there taste nicer due to the ‘extra’ ingredient that i saw. So good luck to all of you who still insist on visiting that shop ever again!

  12. michael said

    oh..quite surprise to see above comment.
    anyway this is my side of the story.
    i love eating at this place with my family. foods are fantastic! kampung fried rice, fried kuay teow, fried laksa, asam laksa, tom yam, claypot chicken rice, popiah are my favs. they serve other local penang food as well. wat impressed me the most is the cleanliness. super clean, the floor, table and environment are very clean. cleanliness is so important to me, some restaurant the table is smelly itself, sometimes the worker is smelly with odor but this restaurant is so clean. i have a unique way to inspect the cleanliness of the restaurant, check out the table cloth they use to clean and wipe the table. this restaurant’s table cloth is white and clean! omg! never see restaurant with such table cloth for a very long time. :). only complain, open late and close early.

  13. chong said

    nice place and very clean.

    http://foursquare.com/venue/1367387

  14. faiz said

    laksa goreng or fried laksa wateva u call it…i suka sangat. ever since i know about it i never miss it. everyday makan haha seriously. hehe.. besides fried laksa, i suka pohpia, nasi goreng kampung, fried kuey teow, tomyam and yee mee hk style. all cun. most important i need to emphasize is the cleanliness and the service, awesomely clean restaurant.

  15. Mike said

    fried laksa!!! yea.. just had it last Thursday. I likey. Good service and very very clean restaurant. my gf like it.

  16. Hon Ing said

    Yummy…The fried laksa is really goooooddddddddddddd.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

