Frames, TTDI Plaza

After the last few posts on eating outside of Klang Valley, am finally back to exploring eateries inside Klang valley. No more driving hundreds of kilometers over the weekend, phew. Decided to just hang out with a good friend at TTDI plaza on a lazy Sunday. Having read up about this place in Klue she suggested we meet here.

The minimalistic b&w look from the outside sat well with me. There are 2 sections, the smoking and non smoking area. But the owners have also thoughtfully sectioned the smoking area into part of the air-conditioned area instead of just exposing the patrons to the outside elements. Hehe.

True to its name, there are framed photos lining the wall which I heard is up for sale too. With the ambient lighting, it’s quite a relaxing atmosphere. With a mainly black & white colour scheme to suit its minimalist interior, they also had splashes of purple in the form of throw cushions, lampshades etc.

I didn’t really know what to make of the menu which had sandwiches, pasta, asian food, western food etc all thrown into it. Thankfully they had a page with their recommendations, along with photos! Sure makes life easier.

And they also have quite a decent range of drinks and we were spoilt for choice. In the end, she chose the Deep Purple (RM7.90), an Italian soda combination of grape, mure and curacao. It was served with 2 watermelon balls, and once stirred, became the colour of its name.

I chose a pineapple mocktail – Match Maker (RM9.90), which was quite refreshing with a tinge of sour.

To start, we shared a Gratin (RM13.90), their signature french original with potatoes, cream, milk and cheese. Very rich and creamy. Hearty comfort food but a tad too rich for me at the end.

I chose the Chicken Tikka (RM19.90) because I was tempted by the description of “two skewers of succulent chicken kebabs served with toasted tortillas”. The marinade of aromatic spices and yogurt was very flavourful and true to its word, the chicken cutlets were juicy and succulent. Sliced bell peppers, mushrooms and whole shallots were used to further enhance the flavours.

On the side was a garden salad and a cucumber & tomato salad. At first I assumed the cucumber & tomato salad was akin to that of a raita or at least was well mixed with yogurt but it tasted more like plain mayonnaise. No chutney either but pretty yummy still.

My friend’s choice was the Mushroom Parmigiano (RM23.90) which is described as “Sauteed mixed wild mushrooms on slice of toasted ciabatta, topped with melted Cheddar & Parmesan cheese.” I don’t know about wild mushrooms as I saw mostly mushrooms of the button, shiitake and oyster kind. I tasted quite a heavy balsamic vinegar taste on them, which didn’t really tickle my fancy as much. Sure I like dipping my bread into olive oil and balsamic vinegar, but when it comes to mushrooms, I think I would have preferred something with a cream base.

We were just hanging around and enjoying the free wi-fi when we were presented with a complimentary slice of lemon cheesecake. What a delightful surprise! It had a moist, smooth and velvety texture which was very agreeable with us.

I quite enjoyed my brunch here so I reckon that this place would see a return visit from me. Afterall, service and food were not bad, and taking into account the cosy ambience, a great place to catch up with old friends indeed.

Frames (www)
B-1-3, TTDI Plaza,
Jalan Wan Kadir 3,
60000 K.Lumpur.
Tel:03-7722 5784
Open 12pm – 11pm

other reviews;
y-leng
food4thot
simple but exquisite
thestar write up

12 Comments »

  1. Katie said

    Your photos are really good – I love the Deep Purple drink. The Gratin looks nice – I find some cheesy saucy things to be too much too, but it doesn’t stop me trying to get through it, lol. The complimentary cheesecake was a nice touch.

    epicuriousgirl says: thanks! yep, I know what u mean about the cheesiness.🙂

  2. cumi&ciki said

    have read about this place but have not been. sometimes it’s like too many places too little time, know what i mean?! lol

    epicuriousgirl says: i know! i have my own “to go” list. and instead of getting shorter, it’s getting longer!

  3. J2Kfm said

    but the mushroom parmigiano looks cheesy and delicious.
    melted cheese + anything also can never go wrong. haha …
    never been to TTDI Plaza, hence this place may be out of reach.

    epicuriousgirl says: hehe. here’s a map if you wanna make ur way there.

  4. I like the look of their interior deco – black & white minimalist. Very contemporary! Must give it a try since i’m in the vicinity.

    epicuriousgirl says: yep, sometimes simplicity is all it takes.

  5. this is definitely a place that sells bcoz of their decor..

    epicuriousgirl says: nowadays a lot of restaurants attract customers thru design or concept ler. but i think it’s still the food that counts. design alone won’t survive also.

  6. gina said

    Wah.. the deco itself score high points from me liao!!

    epicuriousgirl says: minimalist chic is in!🙂

  7. `JeromeFo said

    Gosh* Lemon cheesecake><
    i like the design of the restaurant…
    like snow White palace*

    epicuriousgirl says: snow white’s palace? good imagination you have there. heh.

  8. I have been meaning to pay TTDI Plaza a visit… keep getting pointed there from different directions. I’d go to this place if they keep the cheese overload at bay! A bit too much for me in one sitting!

    epicuriousgirl says: it’s actually quite easy to go to. I normally come from the sprint highway/section 16 side, and it’s the right at the first set of traffic lights on the exit to TTDI.

  9. babe_kl said

    i agreed wid cumi & ciki, must write down in my note pad

    epicuriousgirl says: hope it lives up to your expectations🙂

  10. Heard that this place is opened by ex-delicious staff, sounds interesting, will give it a try one day.

    epicuriousgirl says: oh? didn’t know that bit of trivia.

  11. mimi said

    Got free cheese cake somemore, very warm service~~

    epicuriousgirl says: yeah, i was surprised too. nice one though🙂

  12. […] this joint when I was trying out Frames and was quite excited to try out what they have. Despite being a Sarawakian, I have not had much of […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

