Capital Cockles & Shellfish Stall, Malacca

In light of the long weekend, I have no doubt that many people headed out of the city to take a break. And of course I was one of them. Making my way down south, we decided to make a detour to Malacca. It was nearing 11pm by the time we found ourselves in the city itself. Without further ado, made my way to Jalan Bunga Raya and drove down the street until I spotted Madam King’s departmental store. Parked the car and started looking for the lane where the shellfish stalls are located.

The usual stall I have my shellfish wasn’t there so I walked further down and found this other stall. Haven’t tried this one before but it was endorsed by 8TV’s Ho Chak! so I supposed it’s up to par as well and I came all this way for boiled shellfish, so by hook or crook, I shall get boiled shellfish! πŸ˜›

The alley at night. Looks a bit eerie but venture in for my favourite Malaccan delicacy. Walk ahead until you see this sign.

The stall. The waiting help here dons yellow tees so it’s easy to identify them. But I sure miss the batik clad Mr.Khoo from the other stall. Instead of having to sit at one the low stools at the 1 1/2 ft tall tables, this stall also has usual height plastic tables & stools which we ended up at.

The sweet, tangy and spicy dipping sauce. With various scoops of condiments (chilli, shrimp paste etc), a dash of sesame oil, some ground peanuts etc., it sure was a heavenly accompaniment to the shellfish.

Boiled Cockles. Very fresh but a tad overcooked. Would have preferred them a bit more on the raw side, as it would have been “bloodier”. But still, sublime with the dipping sauce.

Boiled Siput Sawah (η”°θžΊ) or field snails. They were out of kepah (clams) by then, too bad. The snails were my favourite but these were all too “muddy-tasting” and the last one had so much mud in it that I had to quickly gulp down my drink to wash off the aftertaste. Guess I needed more dipping sauce, heh.

Their version of Sotong Kangkung was very watery but tasted quite good with the extra oomph of the calamansi juice and chilli paste. Lots of cuttlefish so we all had our fill.

Overall, the dipping sauce makeths the meal here. My personal favourite is still Mr.Khoo’s stall but this one makes for a good substitute. Prices are quite standard with boiled shellfish at RM1.50 per portion and Sotong Kangkung at RM3(S) and 5(B).

Capital Delicious Seafood δ½³εΏ…ε€š
Back Alley near Mdm King’s,
Jalan Bunga Raya,
Malacca.

Open from 7 – 11 pm. Closed on Tuesdays.

other reviews;
precious pea

8 Comments »

  1. cumi&ciki said

    next time must really ask you where to go and eat in melaka man.. lol. Very cool stall.

    epicuriousgirl says: haha, thanks but I only have a few regular places I makan at in Malacca. Haven’t really explored the other eateries, to be honest.

  2. gina said

    Wah… I like cockles in rendang.. not raw like this! Mud also you can eat ah? Haha!! I salute you! Good post!

    epicuriousgirl says: not eating mud ler… it so happened the last one had some in it! πŸ˜›

  3. Christy said

    How you manage to find this place I wonder:)
    But I must really get tips from you too…hehe, although I was in Melaka for a year, I don’t think I know this place either:p

    epicuriousgirl says: I worked briefly in Malacca and one of my colleagues who’s a local brought me there knowing that I love shellfish. πŸ™‚

  4. mimi said

    Couldn’t try this on my last visit coz they only open at 5.30pm & we were exhausted that time & 1 2 go back KL πŸ˜›

    epicuriousgirl says: hehe, can go again! only 90 mins away from KL ler. πŸ˜›

  5. Never knew such stalls existed! I luv cockles and this looked like my kinda stall, yeah! Must explore this in the next Melaka trip!

    epicuriousgirl says: yup, go try. quite an experience eating in a backalley. Hehe.

  6. vkeong said

    I never eaten cockles/shell fish like this before *paiseh* Good find though.. I always thought Melaka is famous for ais kacang/satay celup and the chicken rice balls

    epicuriousgirl says: ah yes, but those reviews have been done to death, eh? and it was a really short trip so I wanted to eat something I have been craving. πŸ™‚

  7. Tummythoz said

    Called siput sawah I dare not eat. But if rebrand as escargot … yummy. But muddy? Ewws.

    epicuriousgirl says: haha, maybe that’s why escargots are never served steamed/boiled but always with some heavy sauce!

  8. Marshall said

    Hi my loved one! I want to say that this article is amazing, nice written and include
    almost all vital infos. I would like to look extra posts like this .

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

