Tian Hong Char Siew, Salak South.

Another highly rated Char Siew stall is located in Salak South and gathers quite a faithful following. In fact, the colleague who brought me here has been getting her fill here since her secondary school days (a good 15 years or more)! Apart from barbecued meats, they also have some dishes for those looking for an economy rice deal.

My colleague said that the father used to man the stall but now it has been passed down to the two sons. So it’s usually one of the sons that is seen chopping away. But word has it that the father still does the cooking at the kitchen behind. The mother is normally the one that takes the orders and collects the money.

The char siew here looks inviting and tastes sweet and sticky with charred edges. However, if compared with Meng Kee’s, it lacks the melt-in-your-mouth texture. Hence, I have to say it rates second best but remains the best in this neighborhood. Try to come around 1230pm before the full lunch crowd and maybe you’ll be lucky enough to get the fresh-out-of-oven strips. The warm char siew with the sticky burnt sauce is at its best then.

The steamed chicken and roast pork is not bad either. But still, it’s evident the star of this place is the char siew.

The rice here fares better than Meng Kee’s. Fluffier with loose grains. I also like the chilli sauce better. Soup of the day is complimentary but one would have to get their own from the huge pot by the economy rice dishes.

Based on an overall dining experience, I think I’m more inclined to come back to Tian Hong whenever I am lusting for good char siew despite the parking issues as it’s more accessible and cleaner.

Kedai Kopi Tian Hong
A82, Jalan Tuanku 2
Taman Salak Selatan
Kuala Lumpur

other reviews;
masak-masak
neko hime
star writeup

9 Comments »

  1. J2Kfm said

    oh thanks so much for this.
    went to Salak Selatan the previous trip and was amazed by the number of eateries around the place.
    I like Char Siew!

    epicuriousgirl says: yeah, Salak Selatan does have a lot of eateries. There are quite a few recommended eateries that I’ve been wanting to try…

  2. neko-hime said

    hey, thanks for the link up. I haven’t been here in ages and it is still my favorite char siew place!

    epicuriousgirl says: hey! no probs. yup, it’s really good stuff. 😉

  3. Lushia said

    I visited this place last month and when I came across your post, I start to crave for their delicious char siew …..yummy~~ I like your blog!

    epicuriousgirl says: hey, thanks for visiting. 🙂

  4. wow..still on the hunt for the best char siew!

    epicuriousgirl says: haha, I’m on a roll!

  5. Petrina said

    Hi! Just came across your blog and I must say there are loads of yummylicious pictures! I also noticed that you’ve previously added a link to my blog for CWZJ Cuisine. Thanks for that!

    Now, on to a serious matter… did you know that Meng Kee Char Siu has an outlet in Shah Alam. I’ve been there twice but sadly, my godbrother took me there so I can’t remember where is it exactly (sorry!). It’s just as good as the KL one and there is less people so you wont have to wait so long. Just thought to let you know!

    epicuriousgirl says: Hi! Thanks for visiting. 🙂 Yes, I have heard about the Shah Alam branch but I’m equally unfamiliar with SA so until I found someone who can guide me easily, I think I’ll have to depend on the KL shop.

  6. wmw said

    Made a trip here to, haven’t blogged about it yet. It’s quite good but I still prefer either Bill’s FSF or Spring Golden’s Crystal Char Siew in Glenmarie.

    epicuriousgirl says: Those 2 places u mentioned sounds promising though. Must go try then! Where ah?

  7. wmw said

    Finally blogging on Tian Hong….hey, email me. Can take you there :o)

  8. jianchung said

    Hi epicurious girl,

    Thanks for the review on Tian Hong Char Siu @ Salak South.

    I myself have eaten there and posted a review of my own. I’ve also added a 5-star rating system to my post.

    Would you grant me the honor of having you rate Tian Hong of Salak South?

    You can also share other information of the place with the other readers.

    The URL to my review is as below.
    http://ahyen.com/eatgod/eatgod-salak-south-tin-fook-char-siew-rice/

    Thanks!
    ahyen

  9. […] – the epicurious girl […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

