Krispy Kreme!

I was quite an excited girl yesterday when my aunt called and said they have returned from Melbourne and guess what they brought back for me? Krispy Kreme doughnuts! The deliciousness of glazed doughnuts of the Krispy Kreme fame has travelled far and wide from it’s southern origins in North Carolina. Queues at newly opened stores are legendary. It has now stores in 12 other countries apart from America itself. Alas, not in Malaysia though.

Sugary Indulgence

Due the travelling, the doughnuts have moved quite a bit, so no rows of doughnuts to tempt you. But one glazed doughnut, glinting in the sunlight should to the trick, lol. Reheating instructions are printed on its boxes. Just 8 seconds in the microwave to get ready to be transported to sugary heaven.

So my verdict… based on a reheated, day old doughnut is that it’s sweet. Much sweeter than the ones in J.Co. But still light as air. Which I think J.Co has managed to perfect too. Plus the kids at home all think that J.Co has better flavours so at the moment, J.Co rates a bit higher in our hearts even though both taste about the same. But I’ll definitely look out for lit neon signs to try out freshly made doughnuts off the line whenever I am in one of the lucky countries with KK stores to taste the real deal.

But at the end of day, both Krispy Kreme and J.Co tastes much better than Big Apple or Dunkin Donuts, imo.

5 Comments »

  1. J2Kfm said

    oh, JCo is better? yes! 🙂
    I dig JCo’s donuts … though I dig Big Apple’s as well …

    epicuriousgirl says: Based on my tastebuds lah… but then, everyone raves about KK donuts hot off the line and mine was a day old! So we’ll see when I do finally taste the real deal.

  2. well….rumours claim Krispy Kreme will be opening soon at 1U. I guess we will know very soon…must get my hands on this when I visit Bali later this month.

    epicuriousgirl says: really?? in 1U? *excited* but yeah, i intend to try some when I head off to Bali sometime the second half of this year too.

  3. Paprika said

    You are one lucky girl! I just blogged about donuts recently too. Guess these little rings are the latest craze in KL. Whenever anyone goes to Oz I always ask for Red Rooster! Next time, will ask for a KK donut too!

    epicuriousgirl says: yup! but I like Red Rooster too!

  4. Gina said

    I guess I ought to hunt for some Krispy Kreme when I am going down under this coming September.

    epicuriousgirl says: Must try them when they’re hot off the line! Apparently that’s when they taste the best. I haven’t had the luck to try them yet.

  5. Jasmine said

    yammy yammy
    KK is my favourite donuts
    in my country
    it opened just before 3 months ,but it become more popular than old other donuts shops.

    epicuriousgirl says: we’re still waiting for it here…

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

