Stuffed Portobello Burger

I was struck with a burger craving whilst I was writing the last post. Feeling inspired I decide to make my own “gourmet burger”. Instead of just any meat patty, I made a stuffed portobello and grilled it.

Stuffed Portobello

The portobello is basically stuffed with minced meat of your choice. I seasoned the minced meat with salt, freshly cracked pepper and added some flour, egg, diced onions, scallions etc along with the portobello mushroom stalks. then after stuffing the mushroom cup, i grilled the entire thing and added a slice of cheddar on top of it last.

Stuffed Portobello Burger

Then it was just a matter of putting all the ingredients together. Some lettuce, followed by grilled aubergines, sliced onions, and finally the stuffed portobello, and voila, my very own gourmet burger. πŸ˜€

10 Comments »

  1. J2Kfm said

    wow, what’s the sudden obsession with burgers? hehe, but looks yummy, and certainly has my vote … make one with bacons, and melted cheese ok?

    epicuriousgirl says: Haha, no obsession. Just a craving! But will be sure to keep your request in mind. πŸ™‚

  2. Joy said

    That looks absolutely delicious, girl!!! I want one right now.

    epicuriousgirl says: Thanks dear. But I think you make more delish stuff than I do these days. Am sure you use your kitchen more!

  3. Looks delish – I also came across a stuffed burger recipe (they make a burger and stuff mash in it)…and makes it easier to grill. You can try that version too. Thxs so much for yr help the other day! I tried the BKT and the fried chicken. BKT was not bad and fried chicken was very good.

    epicuriousgirl says: The other version sounds interesting! Where did you see it? No probs… just hope they’re still good coz I haven’t been to some of the places for ages.

  4. gina said

    Wah.. i have instant cravings for portobello sandwich the moment I see this!!! YUM!!!!!

    epicuriousgirl says: it was yum indeed! thanks anyway πŸ™‚

  5. loved that last pic of the burger..it looks like its calling me to it..ooohh…

    epicuriousgirl says: haha, thanks!

  6. vkeong said

    Wah lao eh.. i am looking at this in the middle of the night 😦

    I super love burgers.. hungry liao.. sien

    epicuriousgirl says: lots of ramly burger stalls out there in the middle of the night leh. πŸ˜›

  7. Tummythoz said

    Hear that? No not thunder, my tummy.

    epicuriousgirl says: πŸ˜€ thanks!

  8. Agnes said

    Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaah *drools*. That burger looks awesome. I wan I wan I wan.

    epicuriousgirl says: thanks! actually hor.. it’s very easy to make!

  9. cumi&ciki said

    what can i say… hats off chef !

    epicuriousgirl says: lol. thank you!

  10. Hui Xian said

    i think it is nice…. Luv to try one. have not came across one like this!

    epicuriousgirl says: Thanks! I chose to use these ingredients solely because I craved them, so it may not be similar to the conventional burger.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

