Yogitree, The Gardens

While discussing where to meet up with Politikus, she mentioned being sluggish and wanting more greens, and since I haven’t stepped into The Gardens yet (insert blush here :P), we decided on Yogitree after showing her some reviews.

We found the cafe/bistro/restaurant tucked away at a corner by Isetan and even though it was relatively empty, i quite liked the sight that greeted me. Part of the restaurant is converted into a specialty shop selling yoga attire & equipment.

The furniture were not entirely matched as it revolved around green bench seats, light coloured chairs and tables, along with some spray painted pastel kopitiam chairs but was still pleasing to the eye. I really liked the handwritten specials on the blackboard finishes at the counter too. Quite a soothing & relaxing ambience, which was apt with the organic theme of this place.


She started with the Grilled Portobello Mushrooms au Gratin topped with crispy breadcrumbs and cheese, which I nearly ordered too. The mushrooms were evidently very fresh as it was juicy and cooked just right. However, I thought that the cheese topping were a tad too salty for my liking. But that just goes to show that they were very generous with the topping. 🙂


I chose the Flaky Salmon & Crab Fishcake with tomato relish & homemade tartare sauce to start. The fishcakes used smoked salmon pieces along with the flaky crabmeat which tasted divine in my opinion. True to its name, it’s flaky and light. Fans of both smoked salmon and crabmeat will love this.

My main was the Crispy Prawn & Pomelo Thai Salad. Wanted to get a pasta dish initially but as I am huge fan of prawns & pomelo, I ended up choosing this from their board of daily specials. I must admit I wasn’t expecting the crispy prawns to be these dried shrimp lookalikes. But still, it added a nice crunch to the slightly tangy and spicy thai salad. Once again, I found the dressing a tad salty, perhaps too much fish sauce? But luckily the pomelo bits balanced out the saltiness.


Her main was Grilled Mediterranean Vegetables Superfoods Salad with pine nuts, pesto and organic beans. I could see grilled zucchini, squash, bell peppers amidst the medley of salad leaves. As she was finishing up, I could see a whole lot of pine nuts with lentils and chickpeas pooled at the bottom of the plate and I gladly helped myself to them. So it looks like one must mix the salad thoroughly before consuming.


What’s a meal without dessert? We decided to share the Pineapple Upside Down cake with Pineapple Ice Cream which was also listed on the board. They claim to use organic eggs, unbleached flour and real butter for all their cakes. Upside Down cakes are cakes baked in a pan before being turned upside down to let it set. Usually sliced canned fruits in a caramel topping is poured in before the batter so that it sets on top of the cake when turned out. The cake itself is wonderfully dense and not too sweet. However it can be a little difficult to cut with the pineapple rings on the top, but we still enjoyed every bite. The icy ice-cream had hidden bits of pineapple in it too, and tasted refreshing and had the sweetness level down pat. Yum!

Last of all, asked for cold water to wash down everything and couldn’t help admiring the cute glasses they came in. Actually did have some juice to go with the meal but I guess I slurped it down too fast. I chose the “Peak Performer”, a mix of grape, apple & pineapple juice which tasted invigorating.

Overall, food was very good although they rated a bit higher on my salty gauge. Prices are on the higher side, but then, organic foodstuff normally costs more. I am already looking forward to come back and try their handmade pasta as I’ve seen some promising reviews! and for those who think that organic food equates lousy tasting food, come here and be prepared to be blown away.

Yogitree (www)
Lot F-237B,
1st Floor,
The Gardens
Mid Valley City
Kuala Lumpur

Tel No: 03- 2282 6163

other reviews;
politikus
masak-masak
friedchillies

4 Comments »

  1. J2Kfm said

    Hi, funny I went to The Gardens a few times and I missed this completely. Hmm, probably cz I shuffled between lower ground floor, and top floor for food only. hehe … anyway, this was featured on the Star last weekend if I remember correctly. The pineapple cake certainly looks delightful.

    epicuriousgirl says: i remember seeing a newspaper cutout outside their restaurant but didn’t read the actual article myself. it took me a while to find it as i was only informed that it was by isetan. heh.

  2. wow… apart from the cheese, you guys had such a Healthy, light lunch! sounds tasty :):)

    epicuriousgirl says: dinner, actuallty. it may look light, but we were pretty full after this meal!

  3. Lianne said

    I had just hopped over from KL People KL Food’s blog, and she was featuring Yogi Tree too. Portion seems to be rather small here huh .. but looked appetising neitherless.

    epicuriousgirl says: only the starters were a bit smaller but i thought whatever we had was quite filling.

  4. Simon Seow said

    Ah, I feel so healthy already.

    epicuriousgirl says:by reading? lol.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

