River Corner, Tapah

I must admit I never thought I’ll be excited about eating in Tapah. Yet, as my colleague continued to sing praises about the Kung Po Wong Sin (宮保黄鳝) or stir fried spicy swamp eel, I began to look forward to our next stop.

The restaurant we initially wanted to go to was not open so we had to settle for second best, his brother’s restaurant. afterall, people do say “cast in the same mould” etc so I’d expect similar cooking skills. the restaurant is just a short drive away yet somehow the road’s name managed to elude me.

tapah1.jpg

Our first dish was stir-fried sambal petai, featuring the small, local, wild stink beans. The smaller sized ones are better than the bigger ones as they contain more flavour and are widely available around Cameron Highlands. Petai is reputed to do wonders for the kidney, so keep them comin’!

tapah2.jpg

We also ordered Pepper & Salt mantis prawns, which is deep fried before being stir fried under high heat with salt, pepper, garlic, chilli and curry leaves. Love this and can never get enough of this prawn.

tapah3.jpg

Last up was the dish we came all the way for, Swamp Eel cooked “Kung Po” style. The eel has been sliced thinly and stir fried with dried chillies, onions, ginger and some spring onions over high heat for that spicy “wok hei” taste. I quite enjoy this even if my colleague maintains that the other brother’s version is better. Maybe we’ll be luckier the next time.

Kedai Makanan & Minuman River Corner 河边食物中心
35000 Tapah,
Perak.

8 Comments »

  1. Christy said

    Hahaha….of all 3, I only like Mantis prawns dish…hehehe:p
    No offense, I can’t stand petai and definitely not eel:p

    But I am guessing the food should be priced pretty reasonably right?😀

    epicuriousgirl says:I love all three! Erm, I don’t remember how much it was, meaning it should have been quite standard.

  2. I love petai. I’m still “bearing the smell” of the petai I ate last night.😛

    epicuriousgirl says: lol. and that my friend is a good thing.😛

  3. tankiasu said

    Wow its been a while since my last visit to Tapah. Now there’s a good reason to revisit the town.😉

    epicuriousgirl says: go, go, go!

  4. Ooooo…i went to this place for the eel but then it was closed too.😦 It looks so so yummy! Must go again.

    epicuriousgirl says: hopefully we both will be lucky when we’re in tapah next!

  5. wmw said

    Wow! That petai dish looks so good! We didn’t make a stop there….should have.

    epicuriousgirl says: they were good! local petai is always yummier than the bigger ones from thailand.

  6. J2Kfm said

    hey! i ADORE petai since I was a kid (yup, love spicy food since then). and the eels look good. mind giving directions on where this restaurant is? I passed by Khian Yik, but it seemed pretty deserted. Ended up eating malay food at mosque (which was not bad, btw). thanks …

    epicuriousgirl says: i wish i could give you directions… but sadly i forgot to pay attention as I was being directed😛 but I’ll make sure to note down everything when I’m there next and post it here.

  7. […] M’sia beyond KL, Eating Out, Food I wrote about missing out on this restaurant during my last visit to Tapah but this time we managed to find it. Apparently they have relocated to this shop further […]

  8. Moon said

    can i know the time open and close?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

