Paya Serai Ramadhan Buffet

Our company decided to break fast at PJ Hilton‘s Paya Serai Restaurant this year. I was very excited about the buffet initially as I remember their excellent buffet spread from some years back. Plus I’ve yet to see the new look of the hotel after it has undergone some refurbishment works.

Sad to say, my dining experience there wasn’t what I expected. To deal with the bigger crowds, the restaurant has set up temporary seating outside the restaurant. The further walk to the buffet table isn’t an issue but the temporary extra seating were cramped and had minimal moving space. Plus most of the tables were pushed against the windows, which meant that those sitting furthest in have to suck in their stomachs and somehow navigate their way in. I don’t know about you, but I like my space when I am dining. And I felt a little bit ripped off somehow.

paya1.jpg

The spread itself was okay. Lots of meat, kerabu etc. good local fare. i liked the grilled stuff which they did on the spot, together with the satay. the chicken sausages were pretty good too. and i liked the asparagus wrapped in thinly sliced beef. surprised to find hummus, but gladly took some. the garlic naan was too cold hence it tasted leathery. rojak sauce was fab, and we quickly went for seconds.

paya2.jpg
salads galore, and putu piring!

paya3.jpg
Desserts! Cakes, ban chean pan (slow-cooked pancake) and ice-cream etc.

Considering the RM95++ price tag per pax for this Ramadhan Buffet, I think I certainly expected more. And yes, I felt second rated for having to sit outside at the temporary seatings still. Afterall, we pay the same price as those patrons seated comfortably on the inside of the restaurant. Well, looks like I’m back to the ramadhan bazaars dotted around the city…

Paya Serai Restaurant
Hilton Hotel,
2 Jalan Barat,
Petaling Jaya, Selangor.

Star write up

5 Comments »

  1. Timothy said

    I haven’t had my fair share of Buka Puasa session yet for this year … but I will get my chance. Ramadhan Bazaars are better ideas …. there’s a good one in Taman Tun ….. I go there every year. Nice place to get LOTS of stuffs…..

    epicuriousgirl says: i fully intend to visit the one in TTDI soon. can’t wait.

  2. Yeah, most hotels do that – pack as many people in during the buffet that it’s scary! I have fond memories abt this place – one of my favs was their pulut durian.

    epicuriousgirl says: i can understand extra seating, but the cramped conditions were not ideal. felt shortchanged. but they still have pulut durian this year, so maybe you can go and relive your memories 🙂

  3. citygal said

    yeah i tend to expect more for rm 95 too! its a tad too pricey isnt it

    epicuriousgirl says:i think so too, considering they serve mostly local fare. remember shangri-la serving oysters etc for a cheaper rate.

  4. MeiyeN said

    rm95++ is expensive! O_o

    epicuriousgirl says: yup. and yet some hotels offer the buffet at half the price.

  5. pumpkin said

    hi… just came across ur blog while searching 4 review on buka puasa at paya serai. is it not really worth paying that rm95++? my bro really want to eat there. if it’s not worth it, i’ll try to persuade him to go for buka at other place. hehe…

    epicuriousgirl says: i do think Rm95++ is quite pricey considering that the food they serve is mostly m’sian fare, and are widely available. but a lot of people have sung praises about the food, so it may be worthwhile for some.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

