Organic Vegetarian Lunch

organic.jpg

the colourful exterior of this place has long attracted us but we haven’t had the chance to pop by until now. organic vegetarian food is rarely eaten by the colleagues and i even though we have a vegan colleague amongst us as we rarely lunch together. but today all of us got together and we thought we’ll check this place out (finally!).

organic1.jpg

to our surprise, the restaurant inside was packed! and we all loved the simple but old-school decor here. reminds me of the good ole days when we balik kampung to our grandparents’ wooden house. mirrors, wooden planks, old-ish looking clocks & paintings completed the design.

organic2.jpg

i chose the low sugar cincau drink whilst the rest chose organic soy milk (sugar free). neither of us expected bottled beverages, thinking it was freshly prepared. At RM2 and RM2.50 respectively. two of my colleagues opted for economy rice as various vegetarian dishes were available. Soup and fruit were offered free.

organic3.jpg

I ordered the Mushroom fried rice because it sounded interesting and I’m a huge mushroom fan. Thought it’ll be similar to the Malay style using oyster mushrooms. Instead, dried chinese black mushrooms were used. There was actually very little mushrooms to be seen though it tasted rather okay. Lots of shredded lettuce and carrot were used too. The rice was the unpolished brown rice so it was a bit more hard than the usual white counterparts.

organic4.jpg

Our vegetarian colleague chose to have Bak Kut Teh with rice. Traditionally Bak Kut Teh is cooked with pork bones and herbs so I have no idea how they came up with the vegetarian version. When it was served, I could see a lot of beancurd and mushrooms (dried, button & enoki) floating amongst the lettuce leaves. It tasted very herbal but I must admit I prefer the original BKT anytime.

organic5.jpg

The Special Udon looked rather similar to my fried rice in appearance as it too was topped with shredded lettuce leaves and carrots, with the addition of toasted seaweed. I liked this better than my fried rice as the udon noodles were softer and more flavourful.

Even though organic vegetarian food is a refreshing change, it does take some getting used to. The owner of this place is very helpful and friendly, which is a definite plus, especially when you want to grab some of the many groceries they have in their organic mart.

Organic Vegetarian Fresh Mart and Restaurant
17 & 19 Jalan SS18/1B
47800 Subang Jaya
Tel: 03-56362468
Business hours: 9am to 9pm (Mon to Sat); 9am to 3pm (Sun)

other reviews;
beelibaala

6 Comments »

  1. citygal said

    eeee…organic food…*scream n run*..that’s me 🙂

    epicuriousgirl says: lol. i only run when it’s pure vegan food. i like my garlic, eggs etc. and there’s organic meat, so at least that’s still something.

  2. […] their non-use of MSG. however, portion is small considering the prices charged. in comparison, the other organic joint i frequent seems more exciting to me. but if you’re into healthy food, and need some calm […]

  3. […] Food, halal My colleagues and I eat organic fare at least once a week since we discovered this place in Subang’s SS18. So when we spotted this place in Kota Damansara, we were quite excited to […]

  4. realfoodlover said

    Hey, I love the front of that organic shop! And, as an organic gal, I love the sound of the food. It sounds like the presentation was a bit repetitive but I would put up with that for some fresh organic fare (from a solar-powered farming system, to boot!). If I was there, I would live in that place. What organic groceries do you buy?

    (By the way I love your style and photos. Yours was the food blog that inspired me to start!)

    epicuriousgirl says: thanks for the nice words. i don’t buy that much of organic groceries to be honest, apart from some fresh vege, noodles etc. just try to eat organic food at least once or twice a week as organic food hasn’t caught up here as quickly as in the west.

  5. hmm.. I like this outlet very much.

  6. nikel said

    look quite delicious yyo..

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

