Coliseum Cafe

Coliseum is one of the best places to visit when you’re feeling nolstagic and would like a walk down memory lane. established in the 1920s, with a history of more than 80 years, the aged walls has probably “seen” and “heard” more than the average patron visiting it. the deco is not much to look at, with aged white walls, threadbare tableclothes etc. but most of it retain some form of nolstagia in it. but i absolutely adore the coat hooks and hat stand that are remnants of a glorious yesteryear.

coliseum.jpg

Even the waiters look like they have seen better days, with their white starched shirts a bit frayed. the colonial-era cafe remains popular with the locals, who come here for their sizzling steak. the only dress code that applies here is that you have to wear a bib, supplied by the cafe, only if you order the sizzling dishes. the service is surprisingly fast and the turnover of the dinner crowd is quite high too.

coliseum1.jpg

My friend had fond memories of the bread & butter (RM1.90) so he ordered that too but I didn’t try any of it. Looks old school, with the thick slice. But it must have been good because he ordered another portion after he was done with the first one. for starters, i chose the hot asparagus which came drizzled in a buttery sauce (RM6.90) and the prawn salad (RM10.90) to share. Love the prawn salad which reminds me of the west coast salad in Ikea.

coliseum2.jpg

I didn’t fancy any of the sizzling hot dishes so I went for the Grilled New Zealand Lamb (RM20.90) which came with fries and a bed of spinach and mushroom sauce. I practically polished off the spinach & the lamb. It was so good! Surprisingly my friend chose a chinese dish – fried mixed vege with meat and rice (RM11.00) which I expect to fall short of the western food.

We lingered a little while even after the waiters have cleared our dishes as it was pouring outside. It was great to see the families catching up over great food. Definitely recommended.

Coliseum Cafe & hotel
98-100, Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman,
50100 Kuala Lumpur.

Other reviews:
frommers
eve
velverse

5 Comments »

  1. tankiasu said

    Oh my dad used to bring me here pretty often when I was young. And my grandpa used to bring him here pretty often when he was young. 😛

  2. Ah, such memories abt this place. I was tempted to visit here after I read NST’s coverage of this place. They do yummy sambal sandwiches also.

  3. […] in decades of history, I reckon Sek Yuen is the chinese equivalent of Coliseum Cafe. The “waiters” are family, and the 3rd generation of the Phang family is currently at […]

  4. Michael Steinmetz said

    I am a regular since I first came in during the late eighties. The food, the atmosphere are unique. Its my best reason to come back to K.L.
    Hope the place will survive not like the L´coc d´or

  5. Great items from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff
    previous to and you’re just extremely great. I really like what you’ve bought right here, really like what you
    are stating and the best way wherein you assert it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it sensible.
    I can not wait to read much more from you. That is actually a wonderful web site.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

