Banquet, BVII

Note: This place is no longer in operation.

was window shopping in Bangsar Village II with a friend during a weekend when we spotted Banquet. Once again was attracted to its deco which was all white, with a classic garden concept. Separated into two sections, one which sat on the outside area of the actual restaurant, marble tables and white wicker garden chairs were used.

banquet.jpg

Somehow we ended up sitting outside even though I was more curious about the interior. What surprised me was the offerings – both Asian and Western as I am more inclined to think of Chinese food when a name such as “Banquet” is used. But then, I should have guessed when they opted for a more European garden deco.

banquet2.jpg
l-r: Saute Portobello and Button Mushrooms (RM15), Braised Lamb Shank with Chick Peas (RM38)

For starters, we chose the sauteed mushrooms as we are both huge mushrooms fans. Sauteed lightly with garlic, and topped with some shredded cilantro leaves (i think) and sea salt, it was a good start. However, it got progressively saltier and I found myself sipping more and more Orangina. Lol. My friend ordered the tom yam soup noodles (which i forgot to photograph, my bad) but she didn’t seem impressed. i only had a spoonful of the soup and I too, couldn’t put my finger as to what was missing in the soup. wondered if it was the level of spiciness or sourness that was amiss. i ordered the lamb shank, which was rather good, though i would have preferred the meat to be more tender, i.e. easy to tear away with gentle pressure applied. also, I felt that the gravy was a bit too salty. even my friend echoed my sentiments on the salty food.

My dining experience at Banquet was marred by slow service (albeit courteous staff) and salty food but it was only after visiting this place that I found out that Banquet is the sister restaurant of Cafe Cafe. I think that fact alone warrants a re-visit to re-access the food as I enjoyed my dining experience at Cafe Cafe greatly. and this time, I’m sure to order the highly recommended items by other food bloggers. lol.

Banquet
1F-28, Bangsar Village II,
2, Jln Telawi Satu,
Bangsar Baru,
59100 K.Lumpur.

Tel: 2282 3228

other reviews:
mei yen
mycoffee
lyrical lemongrass

1 Comment »

  1. MeiyeN said

    understand that some of them had problems with their slow service but not us though.. and you should really try their butter fish, real nice!🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

