La Petite Cuisine, Singapore

It was a last minute decision really. And my boss’s idea. To pop by Singapore for the weekend for work and also to squeeze in Phantom Of the Opera which is showing at Esplanade. It was a rather rushed & hectic trip too, but still, we saw quite a bit of work-related stuff that gave us new ideas for our upcoming projects.

on our first day, our boss’s friend brought us to what he calls, simple, french peasant food. La Petite Cuisine is a small cafe at Serene Centre, with inside and outside seating. A chalkboard serves as the menu, and there were quite a variety of dishes, with the price range from $7.50 to $14.50. And for an extra $1.50, you can have the option of adding either a dessert/soup/coffee. Love the bread roll they give at the beginning of the meal. Herb baguette, still warm with butter on the side. Biting into the warm, soft bread was heavenly.

lpc2.jpg
My bosses ordered the “Mediterranean Bread & Pork Sausage with Salad” and the “Pork Cutlet with Pasta”. Both of them claimed that their choices were wonderful. I tried a bit of the Pork cutlet and even though it was a little dry, it was quite flavourful.

lpc3.jpg

I wanted to order the “Fillet of Roast Lamb with Gratin” to begin with but it was not available yet so I had the “Dory Basquaise”, which is white fish fillet sauteed with tomatoes, onions Basque-style. It was served with butter rice. I quite enjoyed the fish cooked this way. Am quite tempted to find a similar recipe to cook the frozen dory fillets i have in my fridge. My cousin ordered the Sirloin steak which was served with potato gratin, salad and mustard. the beef was cooked medium rare and was juicy and tender. especially delish when dipped into mustard.

lpc4.jpg
The kids had the Pizza Bread whilst their mother had the “Croissant with Escargots”. I tried both as they generously shared with us. I quite like the croissant. maybe it’s because i am inclined to escargots. lol. love them and no, i am not queasy about eating snails. the pizza bread wasn’t very memorable. but at least it’s warm. topped with cheese, ham, onions, and bell peppers. and served with salad.

i think this french bistro is worth a visit if you’re looking for cheap, french inspired cuisine. but the place is rather small and cannot really sit large groups (we sat outside and joined 3 tables). also, the place only accepts cash and the reading materials available are in french. portions are on the smaller size, but quite filling. i do think the food is a tad oily in general, but then, most of it is olive oil, which i suppose isn’t as bad as normal cooking oil.

Next, to follow up is dessert…

La Petite Cuisine
#01-05, Serene Centre,
10, Jalan Serene,
Singapore 258748.

other reviews:
yum.sg
colin
drool worthy

3 Comments »

  1. […] french lunch, we headed over to the ice-cream joint, Island Creamery which used to occupy the lot La Petite Cuisine is at now. i quite like what greeted me as soon as i stepped into the ice-cream joint. red and […]

  2. Makk said

    I’ve popped by there a few times now, each time trying a different dish. So far, I’ve had the confit du canard(I think that’s right. Basically a duck leg stewed in its own juices), the dory basquiase(incidentally, how I found this page), and the pork cutlet. All were quite delicious. Two out of the three times as well, I ordered the creme brulee, which was very nice, if perhaps a little too sweet for most(if eating something makes my molars hurt, it’s probably too sweet, that’s my personal indicator).

    epicuriousgirl says: thanks for dropping by. i hope i get to go back there someday. đŸ™‚

  3. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as
    long as I provide credit and sources back to your
    website? My website is in the very same niche
    as yours and my users would genuinely benefit from some of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Many thanks!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

