Happy City Seafood Steamboat, Kepong

A sudden urge to eat hot, soupy steamboat took over me a few weekends ago. I ended up at Happy City Seafood Steamboat, located near Carrefour and Happy City Food Court along Jalan Kepong. This place does live seafood steamboat and the ingredients are as fresh as you can get.

This place offers ala carte and some set meals for the indecisive – like me :) We settled for the RM79.90 set that feeds 2-3 pax. You also get to pick your soup. There are several options ranging from porridge to the free ‘yin yang’ soup based. I picked the Drunken Pot (RM15) that had Chinese herbs in it like goji and dong quai. There is also a bottle of Chinese wine on the side for the y’know, drunken effect :) So in this particular set, you get …

… clams

… red snapper

… awesome live prawns that jump out of the plate

… and their ‘steamboat set’ x 1 of meat/fishballs, seafood, vegetables, noodles and egg. Yup, one of everything. Have fun splitting and halving the quail egg, mussel, tofu etc. lol.

With each round of adding ingredients into the pot, I added more and more Chinese wine to the soup. By the end of the meal, the soup was sweet and tangy with herbal notes. It was easily the BEST soup I’ve ever had with my usual steamboat finale of yee mee and three-quarter cooked egg. Ended the meal by downing a glass of honey sea coconut drink, it was an amazing meal, yo.

Service was quick and top notch. I initially had trouble finding a table but one of their Burmese waiters spotted me waiting and cleared a table meant for storing spare pots and cutleries. Very cool. The gas tank also died on us and they replaced it in no time. My only beef with this place? They don’t do mud crabs :(

Parking wasn’t easy that night as all of Kepong and outsiders converged to eat in this area that also houses several other steamboat restaurants. But trust me, after having such a huge, scrumptious meal – I appreciated the short walk back to the car. I am already planning to take my family here to try this place. Heh.

Happy City Seafood Steamboat
Jalan Metro Perdana Timur 2,
52100 Kepong,
Kuala Lumpur.
Business Hours: 5:00PM – 1:00AM

2 Comments »

  1. Jane said

    This is really nice. I’ve tried their porridge steamboat…yummy ;)

  2. Steven Teng said

    • HI, for all ppl would like to buy seafood…i have sell some kind of seafood such as – Lala, ikan pari pari, sotong, Slice abalone, prawn and ostrich meat too.(for you information, my all seafood come from pasar borong so all the price was suppelier price).for interested order stock, we are required you may order early so i can prepare for you…you may contact my phone for more information….my phone number is 017-3099589

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

