Yellow Cab Pizza, KL

Hi all!

Sorry it took me ages to get my first post up. Judging by how little time I have for the internet these days, I can only quickly give a review but I’ll make it worth your while by making it picture-intensive instead :) I took a trip downtown to check out Yellow Cab Pizza Co. It’s like your regular takeaway pizza parlour but I think they are trying out-gourmet its mainstream competitors like Pizza Hut and Domino’s.

Here are some pictures.

null
Raspberry Sola iced tea and kiwi strawberry Snapple.

null
Exterior.

null
Their delivery bikes are really cute!

null
The menu is on the wall and small slip of paper by the counter.

null
Cutlery. Not the most fantastic ensemble for the environment.

null
Even if you’re eating in, they will serve the pizzas in the box. Again, not fantastic for Mother Earth.

null
The Gourmet Garden – zucchini, grilled eggplant, fresh tomatoes, black olives, capers, mushrooms, onions, red and green bell peppers.

null
It was very cheesy but there was something sour about it. It’s not stringy like Pizza Hut’s and the crust felt half-cooked because after biting it in half, you can see raw-ish dough. But the vegetables were very, very fresh and the juices were still intact with every bite.

null
Corona chicken salsa strips of chicken with Southwestern salsa.

null
The base was the same as the GG, no good. I wasn’t sure what Southwestern salsa was like. The chicken strips looked more like cubes. Tomatoes were fresh and it neutralised the sour cheese which topped the pizza.

Overall, I was not impressed. I read rave reviews about the place but all I can say it’s far too overpriced for run-off-the-mill pizzas. I’d recommend it for people who are tired of mainstream pizza brands (but so many other pizza options around!) and don’t mind paying big bucks for fresh ingredients. Prices for the pizzas range from RM19 to RM28.60 for the 10″ pizzas, RM30.50 to RM44.70 for the 14″ pizzas and RM47.80 to RM69.70 for the 18″ pizzas (it’s huge!). Other stuff like pastas, calzone and potato halves are between RM12.80 to RM16.80.

Oh and the cheese … I have no idea what funky mozzarella they were using but it was sour. They might want to consider changing their pepper sauce to Tabasco’s because whatever that they served, tasted yucks. I’m unlikely to go back. I prefer Marco’s Pizza anytime!

Details:
Yellow Cab Pizza Co
At the corner of Jalan Raja Abdullah
50300 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: 03-2694 2003 (call to find out their operation hours!)

5 Comments »

  1. mimid3vils said

    The pizza good to look only :P

  2. J2Kfm said

    agreed with mimid3vils, the pizzas looked damn good. cheesy and full of ingredients. sour cheese?!! cant imagine.

    passed by this outlet while going to Yut Kee the other day.

  3. gina said

    I always thought Alexis has the best pizzas.. thin crust, slightly salty. California also has one pizza which I totally love! Can’t remember the name though.. comes with green sauce.. and of coz, if I want a cheap yet satisfying pizza, I will always go to Nelson Tan’s Cafe in Kepong. :D

    epicuriousgirl says: thanks for telling me… hope to try those sometime :)

  4. lim mei lie said

    i love yellow cab pizza…..i tried manhattan meat lovers…i love it with extra toppings of pineapple…

  5. Feta Cheese said

    Get a clue! The ‘sour cheese’ taste is probably feta cheese.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

